Heyden Kudelko– Mustangs Ahead Sports Editor

(LAKEWOOD RANCH, FL) – As the school year ends, many Mustang athletes are being recognized by the Florida High School Athletic Association (FHSAA) and the Sarasota Herald-Tribune for their excellent play and exemplary academics.

The FHSAA recognized LRHS student athletes’ success off the field.  The school placed eighth in the state for the FHSAA Academic Team Champion award. The award is based on total student athlete Grade Point Average (GPA).

LRHS student athletes were also nominated for athlete of the year and Sarasota Herald-Tribune premiere awards.

Students that have been recognized for the Spring sports season are LRHS baseball players Lochlan Radloff, Ryan Kaitz, Alex Vaillancourt, LRHS Boys Lacrosse players Lucas Anthony and Jayden Probasco, LRHS girls Lacrosse player Morgan McCabe, LRHS Softball players Ella Dodge, Amanda Lee and Cassidy McLellan, and lastly LRHS Boys Track and Field runners Levi Freed and Derek Robinson.

Stay updated on important LRHS news and share what you like by following our Twitter @MustangsAhead, Instagram @mustangs_ahead and follow the Mustangs Ahead Podcast

Earlier this year the Herald-Tribune nominated these athletes in other sports –

  • Boys Soccer –  Diego Friere,  Matthew Iacobelli   
  • Girls Soccer – Olivia Hadad, Julia                Magno
  • Girls Cross Country – Addison Shea. Olivia Spiegel
  • Football – Offensive – Kevin Everhart
  • Boys Golf – Henry Burbee, Parker Severs,  Preston Severs
  • Girls Golf – Lauren Hosier,  Jessica Kobetitsch. Emily Storm, Sierra Yeomans
  • Girls Swimming & Diving – Nicole Majewski

LRHS Athletic Director Kent Ringquist was immensely proud of Mustang Athletes saying, “This is a great accomplishment for teams and the individuals that are nominated.”

The 2023 Sarasota, Manatee, and Charlotte High School Sports Awards for the Spring season will be on Wednesday, June 7, hosted at the Van Wezel Center.

Doors will open at 6 p.m. and LRHS athletes will have the opportunity to listen to guest speaker and 12-time Olympic swim medalist Dana Torres.