Faith Miller – Mustangs Ahead

(LAKEWOOD RANCH, FL) – Following the annual LRHS Junior Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (JROTC) change-of-command at the recent end-of-the-year annual award ceremony, the incoming battalion command group was established, and multiple staff positions were announced.

With the class of 2023 graduating in just a few weeks, it became necessary for a new chain of command to take over during the last month of school; the prior senior leaders use this time to mentor and train their replacements for the new year.

The battalion command group and staff for the upcoming school year will consist of the following individuals.

  • Battalion Commander: Sophia D’Orazio
  • Battalion Sergeant Major: Brandon Rivera
  • Battalion Executive Officer: Caymen Corscadden
    • S-1: Jack Crosbie
    • S-3: Jeanne Tovar
    • AS-3: Elisa Massaro
    • S-4: John Sugalski
    • AS-4: Mason Killingsworth
    • S-5: Heidi Stenberg

The battalion staff–comprised of the Battalion Personnel Officer (S-1), the Battalion Operations and Training Officer (S-3), the assistant to the Battalion S-3, the Battalion Logistics [Supply] Officer (S-4), the assistant to the Battalion S-4, and the Battalion Civil-military operations [Public Relations] Officer (S-5)–was announced, following the provision of the top three leadership positions.

D’Orazio said, “I am extremely excited for the next school year! I am confident in the new leadership, and I cannot wait to work with them.”

Stay updated on important LRHS news and share what you like by following our Twitter @MustangsAhead, Instagram @mustangs_ahead, TikTok @mustangsahead and follow the Mustangs Ahead Podcast   

Rivera said, “As a member of the JROTC battalion, becoming the battalion Sergeant Major is a notable accomplishment and a great opportunity to lead my fellow cadets toward success.”

The monthly Mustang battalion newsletter can be found on the JROTC website. Mustangs interested in participating in the JROTC program can contact Major Shawn O’Dea or Master Sgt. William Cassidy.