Sara Cestero – Mustangs Ahead

(LAKEWOOD RANCH, FL) – The LRHS Student Government Association (SGA) announced the winners of the 2021-2022 LRHS Faculty Awards to wrap up teacher appreciation week, May 2-6.

SGA adviser Delany Riggins said, “Faculty members were nominated by all the staff and then there was a vote between the top three nominees of each category to finalize the winners of the awards.”

SGA created the different categories and passed out gift bags of snacks and other goodies to the winners.

The following faculty won an award –

  • Mustang of the Year (MVP): Assistant Principal Valencia Lowen
  • Youngest at Heart: Coach Bryan Richards
  • Most Likely to Greet you With a Smile: Secretary Kari Keech-Babcock
  • Most Athletic: Football coach Rashad West
  • Most Likely to Become Famous: Journalism teacher Tom Honsa
  • Most Likely to be Called Mom: English teacher Jennifer Grant
  • Most Involved: Coach Joseph Cuervo
  • Most Spirited: Discipline Dean Thomas Bellantonio
  • Best Dressed: Discipline Dean Dr. Debra Shannon
  • Best Advice: Assistant principal Jeannie Galindo
  • Best Hair: English teacher Sejal Desai

Stay updated on important LRHS news and share what you like by following our Twitter @MustangsAhead, Instagram @mustangs_ahead, TikTok @mustangsahead and follow the Mustangs Ahead Podcast

Looking back on the week, LRHS Principal Dustin Dahlquist said, “Thank you, teachers and staff, for committing your professional lives to the betterment of our school and community!  We hope that your week was filled with joy and lots of good food!”